top of page

The AILASA Monograph Prize

The AILASA Monograph Prize acknowledges an outstanding book in the discipline of Iberian and Latin American Studies; including history, politics, literary and cultural studies, or any other field in the Humanities and Social and Sciences more broadly. The prize will be awarded to a single- or multi-authored monograph published during the calendar years 2018 and 2019.

The prize of $250 AUD will be awarded in 2020. Usually, this would occur at the AILASA biennial conference, but in 2020, the winner will be announced by 30 October. The judging panel will consist of the President of AILASA, or his or her representative, and up to three other judges, , including where possible one of the editors of the Journal of Iberian and Latin American Research. Past winners of the Prize will be encouraged to participate in the judging process. Only one award will be made every two years. AILASA reserves the right to not award a prize in any given two-year period. One other outstanding work may be recognised with an “Honourable Mention.”

In order to be eligible for consideration by the judging panel, the following eligibility criteria must be met:

1) The book must be on a topic related to Iberian or Latin American Studies in the Humanities and Political and Social Sciences. It may be written in English, Spanish or Portuguese.

2) Edited collections are ineligible for the prize.

3) The author must be a current (paid up) member of AILASA at the time of applying. In the case of multiple authors, all authors should be current (paid up) members of AILASA to be eligible to apply.

4) An electronic copy of the book (PDF or other format) must be submitted to the AILASA secretary by Friday 31 May 2020. Submission is electronic via the AILASA Secretary, Robin Robb (

The winning author will be informed by 30 October 2020 via email by the President of AILASA. Details of the willing book and author will be posted on the AILASA website. Only the winner (and the Honourable Mention) will be announced; not the nominees.

Recent Posts

See All

AILASA 2020 Awards

AILASA Award for Best Monograph The inaugural ‘AILASA Award for Best Monograph’ is awarded to Dr Stewart King, for Murder in the Multinational State: Crime Fiction from Spain (Routledge, 2019). The aw


bottom of page